Shadow teacher (LSA) in the UAE: costs, providers, and what schools ask for

Not clinical, medical, financial or legal advice. This guide summarises public sources, quoted as published. Nothing here is an endorsement of any provider. Prices and rules change, so always confirm directly.

A shadow teacher works one-to-one with a child in a mainstream school. In Dubai, KHDA’s Dubai Inclusive Education Policy Framework says “shadow teachers” will be renamed learning support assistants (LSAs). In Abu Dhabi, ADEK’s Staff Eligibility Policy uses Individual Assistant (“Other names: Shadow Teacher, Individual PoD Support Assistant”). Here is what we found on rules, costs and providers.

Dubai: what a 2020 news report said about KHDA’s rules

According to a 2020 Khaleej Times report (1 Feb 2020) on KHDA’s Directives and Guidelines for Inclusive Education:

Questions to ask a school: Is this support part of the standard service? If not, will there be a KHDA-registered individualised service agreement? What documentation shows it is needed? Can we hire our own LSA, and what does the school require from them?

KHDA’s framework and directives were re-approved by Administrative Resolution No. (15) of 2026 (11 March 2026). Ask your school which current requirements apply to any extra fee. KHDA’s school directory shows each Dubai school’s “Inclusion rating”.

Abu Dhabi: what ADEK’s Inclusion Policy says

ADEK’s Inclusion Policy v1.3 (effective 3 Oct 2023) says:

We have not reviewed other emirates yet. Check with your school and regulator.

What it costs

Shadow teacher / LSA providers in our directory

ProviderEmirateServices (as stated)Price as publishedSource
ShadowTeacher UAEAll emiratesPlatform listing vetted LSAs/shadow teachers; families hire directlyDubai LSAs ask AED 2,000–6,500/month (median AED 4,000–5,000)source
Special MindsDubaiSupervised LSA/shadow teacher placements; SEN governess; therapy (BCBA-supervised)Shadow teacher from AED 7,000/month; SEN governess from AED 15,000/month; therapy from AED 375/hr; consultation AED 499source
AlamaaniNot statedLSA/shadow teacher placement (incl. ASD); SEN training; tutoring; online therapyNot publishedsource
Small Steps ABA Inclusion Centre (at GEMS Founders School)DubaiABA-based in-school support for children of determination in mainstream settingsNot publishedsource
IncluzunAll emiratesLearning support assistants at home or school; school approval paperwork; monitoringNot publishedsource
ShadowNest Support ServicesAll emiratesShadow teachers for children with autism, ADHD, speech and learning needsNot publishedsource
Stars Learning AgencyNot stated1:1 learning support assistants in mainstream schools; states assistants are proficient in ABA/RBT practicesNot publishedsource

Pulse Therapy and Learning Center also runs a school inclusion programme with LSAs. See its directory entry.

Want to model the yearly total? Add LSA fees in the cost estimator.

Frequently asked questions

What is a shadow teacher in the UAE?

A one-to-one support assistant in a mainstream school. KHDA (Dubai) calls the role a learning support assistant (LSA); ADEK (Abu Dhabi) calls it an Individual Assistant. See the sources above.

How much does a shadow teacher cost in Dubai?

ShadowTeacher UAE says Dubai LSAs on its platform ask AED 2,000–6,500/month, and Special Minds lists shadow teachers from AED 7,000/month (both as published). A 2020 news report quoted parents paying Dh3,000–6,000 a month for school-hired LSAs. Ask the school or provider for a written quote.

Can a Dubai school charge extra for an LSA?

According to the 2020 Khaleej Times report, only through an individualised service agreement registered with KHDA. Rules were re-approved in 2026, so ask your school which current requirements apply.

Next steps on Determined UAE: browse the provider directory or put your own numbers into the yearly cost estimator. Other guides.

Sources

Last reviewed 16 Oct 2026 by Determined UAE. Spotted an error? Email hello@determineduae.com.

Newsletter

Monthly updates on UAE autism services. Unsubscribe anytime.